Over Half Way…

I know my daily post of foods and feelings have been pretty sporadic at the very least! My only excuse, the 30 days has sent me on a roll-a-coster of energy. I have no idea from one moment to the next whether I’m going to be sky high or asleep on the couch!

Today for example, slept till 10am (which never happens) and I had to drag myself out of bed, felt pretty exhausted all afternoon until after my 20/30 minute nap at about 5pm. When I rolled off the sofa, I felt like a totally different person! I had so much energy, felt so good and managed to get all the things on my list completed. It was a bit of a pain doing all of my house work at 6pm (I usually get this out of the way very early in the AM) but it felt great that I actually had the energy (and gumption) to get up off my butt and get it all done!

It hasn’t been like this everyday. I have been experiencing this type of energy change over a period of a few days to a week, for example, last week I found myself lethargic every single day. I had no energy for training and experienced aches and pains in my body, in particular my kidneys. This week (even though technically it’s only the first day) I feel pretty good. I’m even planning on getting up and running the mile or two to the gym tomorrow! I’m putting this on here to keep me accountable. I will also be tracking it with my Garmin, so you guys can keep track! I still need to write a review of my Garmin watch but you can find some good ones here and here.

I also have to admit that the cravings have been pretty tough. I have often been indulging in more fruit than I probably should do on many days but I figure this is better than heading down to the nearest ice cream restaurant. I have given in to a couple of the ‘absolutely avoid’ foods, namely the gluten free lemon polenta slice I had at the Harpenden Farmers Market this weekend! When I do give in though, I still try to make a fairly good choice e.g. a couple of squares of dark chocolate. When I had the polenta cake I could definitely feel the effects of the sugar straight away. You can feel those artificial endorphins seeping into your body! I can definitely understand how it can be more addictive than more illegal drugs!

Anyway, on to the food!

Breakfast

Last week I was obsessed with fresh mackerel for breakfast. I usually have tinned fish if I’m going to eat something like that for breakfast but a few of my friends questioned why? I had no idea why… I’ve always had tinned fish so I guess I never knew any better! This week I tried the fresh stuff (well, from a supermarket counter… one step at a time!) and I loved it! It’s s much tastier! Other than that, I’ve had a couple of green smoothies and the usual bacon breakfast at the weekend.

 

Tinned Mackerel & Avocado

Tinned Mackerel & Avocado

Vitamins

Vitamins

 

Lunch

Lunch has been the usual, protein with mixed leaves, usually spinach. I try and add spinach to most of my meals. I need to get more exciting with my lunch recipes – in fact tomorrow is going to be salmon. That’s a little more exciting already!

 

Paleo Lunch Paprika Cod & Veg

Paleo Lunch Paprika Cod & Veg

Paleo Lemon & Garlic Cod with Veg

Paleo Lemon & Garlic Cod with Veg

Dinner

I’ve been out for dinner a couple of times this week, which I have found pretty difficult! Going to the usual Italian restaurant that does some pretty tasty gluten free pasta, it was difficult to break a habit of a lifetime and choose something different but I did and you know what, it was so much tastier! And I didn’t get that bloated/stuffed feeling either. AND, I passed on the dessert 🙂

UPDATE: I went for dinner last night (pictures below) but unfortunately, this time I did not pass on the dessert! I had a couple of scoops of ice cream. The important thing to remember is that we all fall. It’s how we learn to pick ourselves up! Don’t drop your phone and smash it all over the floor. Just accept it and move on. In fact, remember to enjoy it. If you’ve had a slip there is no point beating yourself up for it! Just move on.

Mint Lamb Chop & Steamed Carrots

Mint Lamb Chop & Steamed Carrots

Steak & Fish - Eating Out

Steak & Fish – Eating Out

Vegetables & Spinach Sides

Vegetables & Spinach Sides

Parma Ham & Melon Starters

Parma Ham & Melon Starters

Seabass

Seabass

Snacks

Definitely too much fruit. I’m going to type up a post of tips for doing this 30 days – and ones that I will be taking advantage of myself for the remainder of my journey!

Chopped Apple & Strawberries

Chopped Apple & Strawberries

More Fruit...

More Fruit…

Whole Foods Green Smoothie

Whole Foods Green Smoothie

 

 

Enjoy!

NMK

Leave a Reply

