The Good Stuff: Strawberry & Banana Smoothie

This smoothie recipe was my first and still my favourite smoothie recipe. It has transformed over time but essentially, its sweet strawberries and banana.

This recipe used to always do the trick when I was a busy uni student trying to split my time between studying and drinking! There was the odd run thrown in from time to time but usually I’d only have a couple of tiny meals (like plenty of other uni students!) so breakfast was that much more important.

Nowadays, I have swapped the pink smoothie in for a green one on most occasions. I have found that by cutting out processed foods and sugar, I have become increasingly sensitive to it. If I have too much fruit or other kind of sugars, dried fruit for example, I break out in very annoying spots around my chin. If I am over indulging or if there is something that disagrees with me in my diet, it will rear its ugly head all over my chin!

So, here is the recipe:

Ingredients

Serves 1

1 x Banana (medium)
6 x Strawberries
2 x scoops of full fat greek yoghurt (I use Fage. The picture below has 0% but this is only because it’s all I could get my hands on at the time!)
100ml (you can use a number of liquid options) milk, orange juice, coconut water, apple juice
2 x tbsp Udo’s Oil
Handful of seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, sesame etc etc)

I would also add in a scoop of Good Hemp protein powder here if it was pre/post work out (optional)

For my own personal smoothie I started out using OJ but ran out one day and had to use coconut water… Absolutely divine! I still use it now but, I should warn you, it can become expensive!

Strawberry & Banana Smoothie Ingredients

Strawberry & Banana Smoothie Ingredients

Method

1. Put everything into the blender and blend until smooth – as simple as that!
There are couple of alternative options here:

a. You could add ice cubes to make it have that refreshing feeling (sometimes the banana can make it taste a little “warm” to me, if that’s even possible?)

b. If you want to add in some veggies, you can either add a little spinach (i promise it won’t take away from the flavour that much) or you can blend the spinach up separately with a little water and make spinach ice cubes. You can then add these to the mixture when you blend it (takes away from the flavour a little less that the fresh option)

Basically, you need to have a little play around with the ingredients to see what you like. Also, have a think about why your are eating/drinking this. Is it simply for flavour (in which case I would say don’t add too much spinach)? Or is it to make sure you are at your nutritionally and physical best? There’s no right or wrong answer, you just need to consider your goals.

The Result: Strawberry & Banana Smoothie

The Result: Strawberry & Banana Smoothie

Send us in some pics! This one is really yummy so make it last!

Did you manage to get out and work up a sweat this Easter Sunday? Make sure you do tomorrow! Burn off some of those extra chocolate pounds!

NMK

 

2 comments

    1. For sure, Rise and Revel! Let me know if you try it out

Leave a Reply

