#WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday)

This week I’m on the Jason Vale Juice Cleanse! Giving my liver a good rest from the beautiful Italian wine!

Jason Vale is known as the “Juice Master” and he really is! I have so many of his books and his app. Every now and then I will feel like I’ve over indulged and need a little refresher. Jason is perfect for this, all of his recipes are so yummy!

If you are interested in juicing but feel like you need a little more structure then Jason’s got you sorted too. There are so many plans and cleanses to choose from you’ll be spoilt for choice! They are so easy to follow and can last as long or as short as you like! He tells you what to buy, how to juice it and when to drink them. You can either go by the prescribed plan or once you feel a little more confident you understand the principles you can adapt it in any way you like. They are so flexible. What Jason (and I) want is for you to be a healthier, happier person. Juicing is great for this.

Jason even has books and videos on how to start or stay eating clean (essentially!) for when you finish your juicy kick start.

It’s always Jason to me, not Jason Vale. I’ve watched so many of his videos and read so many books, it’s like I know him! He has such an approachable manor that you’ll love him straight away.

Anyway, enough of plugging Jason Vale (this is not an advertisement), let’s talk about what it is I actually had today.

Meal 1

The day begins with a ginger shot: juice 1/2 an apple with a lump of ginger. It’s that simple. The more ginger you add, the more of a fiery kick you’re going to get.

Ginger Shot

Ginger Shot

This is what Jason has to say:

“Ginger is everyones favourite ‘anti’, its anti-viral, anti-septic, anti-histamine, anti-inflammatory and just great if you have a head cold or sinus congestion. I personal found that it improved my annual, sometimes debilitating hayfever by about 80%, so I really do swear by this little beauty.”

I had this along with a hot cup of lemon tea.

Meal 2

The way the juices work so that you have a thick one (thickened with banana or avocado) in the morning to give your mind that “full” feeling, two pure juices for your lunch and afternoon snack and then another thick one in the evening.

On a Tuesday this would be a Veggie Power Smoothie for breakfast and dinner and a Ruby Tuesday for lunch and afternoon snack. I find that I get hungrier as the day goes on so I swap my juices around so that I have the Ruby Tuesday for breakfast and lunch and then Veggie Power Smoothie for afternoon snack and dinner. This probably has a lot to do with my mind being occupied at work, so I think about food less and then start to think about it more again in the evening when I know I have to fuel my workout after work.

So, at 9am I had my first juice, The Ruby Tuesday.

Smoothie Cleanse

Smoothie Cleanse

Made with the finest beetroots, this red juice is probably one of the tastiest ones you’ll get to drink!

  • 2 carrots
  • 1/2 Beetroot
  • Fresh Basil Leaves
  • 1cm Chunk of Ginger
  • 1/4 Pineapple

I adapted mine by swapping the pineapple for extra carrots and removing the basil – I like my juiced beets to be as plain as possible.

Nutritional Benefits:

  • Beetroots lower blood pressure
  • Increases oxygen in your blood – increasing stamina
  • Loaded with vitamins B, C, Beta-Carotene, Calcium, Magnesium, Iron, Sodium and Potassium

Meal 3

Meal three was the same as the above, only I added a banana too the mix. A whole banana, not smoothied!

SOS Banana

SOS Banana

Meal 4

Meal four was the first of the Veggie Power Smoothies

  •  2 apples
  • 1 large handful of spinach
  • 1 large handful of kale
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 celery
  • 1/4 medium cucumber
  • 2 cm chunk of broccoli stem (I usually use more – can;t get enough broccoli)
  • 1/2 avocado
  • some ice cubes

Nutritional Benefits:

  • Rich in chlorophyll – boost oxygen in the blood and detoxifies the body
  • Essential fatty acids from the avocado keep you feeling fuller for longer
  • Re-hydrates your body, battling dry skin and damaged hair

Meal 5

Meal 5 was the second half of the Veggie Power Smoothie detailed above. Nice and thick and perfect for an after training protein boost.

I also added about 100g of chicken breast with a 1/4 avocado to the end of my day, mostly because the training I am doing at the moment is pretty lengthy and tough, but if this is your first time then I would strongly suggest you stick to the plan outlined in the book, article or app.

Don’t think you need to spend loads of money doing this plan to see any results! There are so many places you can go to get the resources – Closer magazine and Elle.com for example. All the books and apps and services are simply Jason trying to make it as easy as possible for you. If this wasn’t the case then he wouldn’t bother publishing anything in magazine or newspapers. Instead he would tell you that there is no way you can go about this other than buying the books etc. Once you have enough experience at making juices and smoothies, there is absolutely nothing from stopping you creating your own plans! You can find so many other juice and smoothie recipes on Jason’s website, The Juice Master.

If you want to take part in the plan, Jason Vale is starting something called The Big Juice Spring Clean next week! It’s only 5 days and you are given so many resources to help you along the way!

I’m all signed up and ready to go!

Take a look at the Facebook and Twitter pages for more info!

Let us know if you take part! What have you been eating this Wednesday?

NMK

 

 

Leave a Reply

