What I Ate Wednesday (Thursday…)

I’ve been slacking a little bit recently. I’ve not been feeling 100% so my meal prep and food tracking has been less of a priority. I can definitely notice a difference in the way I’ve been feeling emotionally as well as physically.

I’m one of these people that likes to understand what the food I’m eating is doing for my body. Might sound strange but when you realise that mindlessly shoving foods in your mouth could have potentially led to bowl cancer or osteoporosis you start to wonder what affect everything else is having.

The past week, I have aimed to keep it as simple as possible as much as I can.

Here’s what I ate:

Breakfast

Loving homemade turkey and egg muffins recently! Pretty easy to make once you’ve got the hang of it and you can mix up as many good foods in there as you can! This week I chose to keep it simple and only add red onions and kale. I’ve been eating around 3 of these each morning – they’re only small – along side a litre of water on my 45 minute drive to work!

Nutritional facts:

Red onions – full of phytonutrients (natural chemicals with antibacterial properties) that protect and boost the immune system. High in flavonoids, antioxidants that help prevent against cancer and heart disease. 

Kale – The Queen of Greens! Eat as much as you can in any form you can. Protects against cancer and lowers cholesterol. Contains vitamin A, C and K along with minerals like copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus. EAT AS MUCH AS YOU CAN.

Turkey Muffins

Turkey Muffins

Lunch

One of my favourite meals for keeping things simple.

One tin of ‘no drain’ tuna in ‘a little olive oil’ with spinach, rocket, roast broccoli & carrots and avocado.

Throw roughly two handfuls of spinach/rocket into a tub along with a few veggies. When I get to work I just pile the tuna on top with about 1/4 to 1/2 an avocado. I dress my salad in a bit of apple cider vinegar, olive oil and black pepper but I can do without really. I’m not huge on dressings in general but this one has added health benefits so why not?! Let’s go crazy!

Nutritional facts:

Spinach – People are surprised when I tell them that greens are high protein foods. Guess what, they also contain carbs! They contain everything you need. high in niacin and zinc, as well as protein, fiber, vitamins A, C, E and K, thiamin, vitamin B6, folate, calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, copper, and manganese. In other word, it’s loaded with good things for every part of your body! If you’re a calorie counter, these foods are calorie-less (in my mind anyhow). All greens consist of is good stuff! Apart from the pesticides, so make sure you wash them well before eating.

Rocket – Same goes for these greens too! Studies also have shown that rocket helps maintain your vigorous brain function, memory and mental clarity. It’s also been found to counter carcinogenic effects of oestrogen, protecting against many cancers.

Tuna – High in protein, Omega 3 (the good fats), vitamin D and Selenium. These together help promote healthy tissue and cell growth and can even encourage a happy and positive mental attitude.

Avocado – An avocado also has 60 percent more potassium than a banana… They are a SUPER food. They contain nearly 20 nutrients including potassium, vitamin K, folate, B vitamins and vitamin C. What more do you need to know…

Apple Cider Vinegar – Lowers glucose levels and stabilises insulin in the body. It’s even been speculated to have weight loss properties. Essentially, a tasty alternative to rich and creamy salad dressings!

Tuna Salad

Tuna Salad

Dinner

Sleepy and sickly tonight… I have settled for a big portion of scrambled eggs. I had originally had planned chicken in coconut oil with a selection of steamed veggies but the lazy illness has got the better of me! This is why it’s always good to plan and cook (if possible) you meals ahead of time.

Nutritional Facts:

Eggs – I always try to make sure mine are free range at the very least and organic where possible. Great for bone health and provides zinc, important for wound healing, growth and fighting infection. Eggs also contain iron, the vital ingredient of red blood cells. These are what transport oxygen around your body! Also, high in B12, something that vegetarians are lacking in!

Scrambled Eggs

Trusty Scrambled Eggs

Snacks:

  • a palm sized portion of back grapes
  • one apple with a table spoon of almond butter
Black Grapes

Black Grapes

Apple & Almond Butter
Apple & Almond Butter – YUM!

NMK

Leave a Reply

