Motivational Monday (or Wednesday…)

It’s been a whole week since I last posted… (over a week now!)

Very bad of me. I have no excuses, the time seems to fly by in the blink of an eye!

I promise I’ll get better at this blogging stuff – I’m dedicated to my dedication to improve!

Anyway, on to my inspiration this week. You might remember my previous post about Rhino, one of the coaches at Storm Gym, Luton.

Let me introduce Rhino in a little more depth.

Name: Matt Anderton, aka Rhino, aka SUPER Rhino 

Matt Anderton Storm Gym Luton

Super Rhino

I joined Storm Gym a little under a year ago. Matt was my first ever instructor.

He took me and J under his wing instantly, even though we interrupted the plan for his original class (might sound trivial, but can be very frustrating! Especially if you turn up late!) he was more accommodating than any other instructor I had come across.

We were taught some basic techniques and Matt continued to spread his attention around the class as evenly as he could.

In that first class there were probably about 10 people on the mats. I have continued attending this class every Sunday since that first day (mostly!) and it’s now reached a strong 30+ attendance! It’s been so popular it’s even had to be split into intermediate and advanced sections.

For a good guy that doesn’t consider himself a “coach”, I’d say he’s made a difference in quite a few peoples lives!

After losing a vast amount of weight and entering the ring as “Rhino” to fight MMA for Storm Gym, Matt was diagnosed with Non Hodgkins Follicular Lymphoma.

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma is a cancer of the lymphatic system. This is part of the body’s immune system and helps us fight infection. It’s made up of organs such as the bone marrow, thymus, spleen and the lymph nodes (or lymph glands). Lymph nodes are connected by a network of tiny lymphatic vessels that contain lymph fluid. As lymph fluid flows through the lymph nodes, the nodes collect and filter out anything harmful or anything that the body doesn’t need. This includes bacteria, viruses, damaged cells and cancer cells. Obviously, if the lymph nodes aren’t working the way they should be, out bodies suffer.

Since I’ve known Matt, I’ve seen him go from strength to strength through the ups and downs. Through chemotherapy treatment, he has always kept a positive mental attitude.

Even still, he hardly ever misses a class – probably despite his better judgement!! When the motivation is waning he joins in shouting “If I can do it, there’s absolutely no reason you can’t“! When there’s a guy with cancer in front of you working harder than anyone else… You move your butt! If for no other reason than respect!

He’s been my inspiration and always pushes me to the next stage of my training. Without Matt, I would definitely not have advanced as much as I have in recent months. Both physically and mentally. Nothing is ever too much of an ask!

Matt has three young children and a beautiful wife. Rather than let life get him down, he keeps his chin up through the whole process and lives life to the full. Rather than let his illness hold him back, he uses it to motivate him and stay focussed on what’s important.

Now… This is an illness. This could be an excuse… But it isn’t.

To ill to run

No Excuses!

Appreciate and respect your body. It won’t last forever. It is the only thing you will ever really own.

NMK

Leave a Reply

