Camping Wild, Eating Clean

It’s Tuesday, my first Running Clean post, morning session down the gym complete, the kit has been gathered and the food has been foraged, now just to prepare and cook it all up!

20130618_130037

My plan for the day was to go shopping, come home and relax with some Star Wars or The Dark Knight after preparing all the ingredients to cook up some great snacks tomorrow. Unfortunately the best laid plans of mice and men can go terribly wrong so I sensibly decided to cook it all up today. I promised Nicola that I would not rant about anything that went wrong during my baking session… Cue mad panic in the kitchen with flour on the floor and ceiling! The reason for all this fuss is because we are heading to the Highlands, away from the local shops for a few days, so we want to take some good clean sustenance to keep us going.

No sooner had I started mixing up the ingredients for Nicola’s home-made gluten-free bread (it is £3 a loaf in the shops!) did I realise that I had no gluten-free self-raising flour and had to make a mad dash back to the shops to get some. I arrived only to find that the shops didn’t have any either so I had to make do with some dodgy looking flat bread and call it coconut bread. Sorry Nicola!

Home made protein bars… Whilst I am (or used to be Nicola might say) a dab hand at making bread, I have not made any protein bars for some considerable time so I consulted the oracle (the Google Gospels) for some inspiration. There are some questionable recipes on the net let me tell you that! In the end I resorted to making it up as I went along and came up with two different variations.

Batch 1: Found on http://www.food.com/recipe/peanut-butter-protein-bars-79090 The peanut bar, protein flapjacks.

Ingredients:

  • Dried apricots – 5 diced
  • Handful of raisins
  • 1/2 cup of apple juice
  • 1 cup soya milk
  • 1 cup of oats
  • 5 tbsp of peanut butter
  • 5 scoops of hemp protein
  • 1 tsp agave nectar

It was more or less what the blog suggested but my measurements were not exact, it all adds to the spice of it. I poured the milk and peanut butter into a pan on a very low heat and soaked the raisins and apricots in the apple juice prior to this. I then gradually added the oats and hemp into the pan, stirring continually, until it started to thicken up and added the raisins, apricots and apple juice. Where I differed with the blog was after putting the finished mixture into a pan, I put it into the oven at 130˚ and left in there for 20-30 minutes to brown off. Delicious if I don’t say so myself but then self praise is no praise.

Batch 2: Found on http://www.mensfitness.com/nutrition/supplements/do-it-yourself-protein-bars Frozen protein delight.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • 1/2 cup of granola oats
  • 2 bananas
  • 1 cup of soya milk
  • 1 tsp agave nectar
  • 3 tbsp of peanut butter
  • 4 scoops hemp protein
  • 2 tbsp flax seeds
  • 1 tbsp of ground almonds
  • 1/4 cup of pressed orange juice

With the milk, granola, oats and hemp all put into a blender and blended for a few seconds, I gradually added the rest of the ingredients until satisfied with the consistency, blending all the ingredients together before pouring into several containers and left in the fridge for 6-8 hours. Different to how I used to make them but I will give most things a try once.

20130618_154211

I will report back on the taste test once Nicola returns from work, I hope they are as good as they smell! Next up, dinner. There is no rest for the 21st century man…

Leave a Reply

